Proposition 64, the voter initiative that legalized recreational cannabis (aka “adult use”) in the State of California, goes into effect on January 1, 2018, at the toke, err the stroke, of midnight. Although a handful of States have already approved recreational cannabis, all eyes are on The Golden State as it is by far the most populous state in the U.S. and has the sixth largest economy in the world.
Here’s what you need to know about recreational cannabis in California.
Anyone 21 and older, whether they are a state resident or not, may purchase and/or consume cannabis products (flower, oil, edibles, etc.) from licensed cannabis shops. Prop 64 also permits individuals to give away cannabis, but individuals cannot sell it without a license.
For Californians with a medical marijuana card, the age remains 18 years and up.
28.5 grams (1 ounce) of flower.
8 grams of cannabis concentrate.
6 plants for personal use, but the plants must be locked away and not visible to the public.
Good luck, bro. According to the California Department of Public Health, “you cannot use, smoke, eat, or vape cannabis in public places and you cannot smoke cannabis or cannabis products in places where it is illegal to smoke tobacco.” So, don’t think about using on a beach, in a park, at a restaurant or any other public place. Your hotel may be off-limits as well and landlords can prohibit you from smoking in their places. Use within 1,000 feet of a school, day care center, or youth center while children are present is also a no-no. Getting caught lighting up or vaping in the wrong place could lead to a $250 fine.
If you are a visiting, ask your budtender. They don’t want your touristy self screwing it up for everyone else.
Sorry Snoop, but rolling down the street smoking indo is strictly prohibited and could cost you your jobby job if caught. Think alcohol laws while transporting cannabis in a vehicle.
Cannabis is required to be in an approved container and that container must be sealed while in the vehicle. Otherwise, your cannabis has to, by law, be kept in the trunk of your vehicle. Also, driving under the influence of cannabis and using cannabis while operating any type of vehicle remains illegal.
Residents who have MMJ cards shouldn’t be so quick to let their cards expire as there will still be some perks to being a cardholder. Those with MMJ cards will be exempt from certain sales tax, can grow more plants, have access to more places to purchase cannabis since municipalities may limit recreational sales in their communities, and enjoy laxer consumption laws.
The feds will certainly harsh your mellow if they catch you with a little smokey-smoke as cannabis is still illegal federally and classified as a Schedule I drug under the federal Controlled Substances Act. As reported by The Sacramento Bee, the Feds may be preparing to ramp-up enforcement, which could put a damper on the whole thing. So, just because cannabis is legal in California doesn’t mean you can’t get hemmed up for possession.
Beware: there are several Border Patrol checkpoints in California that will take your stash and your fingerprints if you try to pass through with cannabis.